The Council

Cuckmere Valley Parish Council was established on 1 April 1974 as a result of the Local Government Act 1972, replacing the former Parishes of Litlington, Lullington and West Dean, which now form the three Wards which comprise the Parish. It is a rural Parish situated on the South Coast of England within the South Downs National Park and takes its name from the Cuckmere River which at its southern end forms the western boundary of the Parish until it reaches the English Channel at Cuckmere Haven.

The Parish Council comprises seven Members who are elected for a four year term. Four Councillors are elected to represent Litlington Ward, two Councillors are elected to represent West Dean Ward and one Councillor is elected to represent Lullington Ward. CVPC forms part of the East Dean Ward of Wealden District Council along with East Dean & Friston and Long Man Parish Councils, where it is represented by a District Councillor. CVPC is represented on East Sussex County Council by the County Councillor for the Willingdon and South Downs Division. The Planning Authority for CVPC is the South Downs National Park Authority based in Midhurst, West Sussex. At present CVPC falls within the Lewes Parliamentary Constituency, but this may change when the current Boundary Commission review is finalised.